The English Language Alphabet consists of 26 letters, 23 from Old English and 3 added later.

The Alphabet is based on the Latin script, which is the basic set of letters common to  the classical Latin alphabet.

Each letter has an uppercase (capital letter) and a lowercase (small letter) form.

From 26 letters, five (5) are Vowels and 21 are Consonants.


English Alphabet

English Alphabet



A, E, I, O, U.


B, C, D, F, G, H, J, K, L, M, N, P, Q, R, S, T, V, X, Z, W, Y.

Two letters, “A” and “I,” also constitute words.

Until 1835, the 27th letter of the alphabet was the ampersand &.



1 A a a
2 B b bee
3 C c cee
4 D d dee
5 E e e
6 F f ef
7 G g gee
8 H h (h)aitch
9 I i i
10 J j jay
11 K k kay
12 L l el
13 M m em
14 N n en
15 O o o
16 P p pee
17 Q q cue
18 R r ar
19 S s ess
20 T t tee
21 U u u
22 V v vee
23 W w double-u
24 X x ex
25 Y y wy
26 Z z zee/zed

Fun fact

Loading some realy fun and cool facts.

This page is about Alphabet.

Was this page useful?